Cyber Beacon 2020
Disruption in an Era of Great Power Competition:

Pandemic, Infodemic, Space, Cyberspace, and Beyond


  - Speakers: The strategic and thought leaders at the intersection of cyberspace and national security.

  - Attendees: Hundreds of selected USG and other guests in this field.


Cyber Beacon 2020 is the 7th annual flagship conference of  the College of Information and Cyberspace (CIC) at National Defense University (NDU), "Our Nation's Cyber War College".


Online. Further details will be provided to registered attendees.


08:00 - 16:30 (eastern) on Thursday 3 December 2020


Improve national security though education and discussion.


Read the Defense.Gov article

about the event here.


Watch the talks by

Congressman Jim Langevin here

and Jeff Moss here!


Full Agenda

0800: Welcome by NDU President, NDU Provost, and CIC Acting Chancellor

Morning: Department of Defense Perspectives

0830: Director of Operations at US Cyber Command, Major General Kevin Kennedy

0915: Principal Deputy Chief Information Officer of the Department of Defense, John Sherman 

1000: 15 min Break

1015: Chief of Technology and Innovation at US Space Force, Major General Kim Crider

1100: Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Cyber Policy, Thomas Wingfield, Esq

1145: 30 min Lunch Break and Open Discussion led by Dr. Joseph Schafer

Afternoon: Whole of Nation Perspectives

1215: CIC Student Panel: Mr. Mitch Wander (Department of Treasury), Col Michael Bock (German Armed Forces), Lt Col Toby Hlad (US Marine Corps), and (Moderator) Mr. Ian Talbot (Department of the Air Force)

1315: Co-Chair of the Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus, Rep. Jim Langevin

1400: Executive Director of the Cyber Solarium Commission, Retired Rear Admiral Mark Montgomery

1445: 15 min Break

1500: Founder of DEF CON and Black Hat, Jeff Moss

1545: Great Power Competition: Retired Brigadier General Rob Spalding. PhD

1630: Closing Remarks by Dr. Cassandra C. Lewis



Event Hosting Team:

Host: Dr. Cassandra C. Lewis, Chancellor (Acting) of CIC

Moderator: Col. Bryan Eberhardt, Chief of Staff of the Air Force Chair at CIC

Lead: Mr. Joe Billingsley, Director of Strategic Engagement at CIC

Deputy Lead: LTC Ryan Shipley, faculty at CIC

AV: Ms. Tammy Dreyer-Capo, Instructional Designer at NDU

Support: Mr. Josh Baughman, Operations at CIC